Despair, DESPAIR!

And so, my second outing in the board game War of the Ring (WotR) playing as the leader of the Free Peoples. Not a great result – I admitted defeat with James as the Shadow player on 7 of his required 10 VPs from taking Free Peoples’ settlements, and with the Fellowship a scant 4 steps (out of maybe 18) from their start in Rivendell and with 8 of the 12 corruption points it would take to turn them to the dark side.

James analysed his first few event cards with precision, and started out with a swift push from Mount Gundabad into Rivendell, taking it in short order with a mean combination of cards and dice. This nearly saw the early removal of the Witch King, soon after his early appearance on the board, but didn’t (see below). Meanwhile, I attempted to get the Fellowship well on their way, but they were immediately both Hunted and Revealed. This unfortunately set the tone of the game – only one siege that James set took any length of time to take, the rest falling to a veritable cascade of 6s rolled, and of the 4 moves the Fellowship made, they were Hunted and Revealed every time, 3 by the dice and 1 by a card.

With the Fellowship in such dire straits it was imperative that I should at least threaten militarily, and so when James left Dol Guldur with only 1 defender in order to smite Lorien (which was the one siege that took longer than one or two actions), I attacked with Legolas and his brethren from the Woodland Realm. This also foreshadowed future events, since they failed to take it in 3 attacks, sufficient time for James to bring up reinforcements from Mordor way and then to whittle my troops down. I took Dol Guldur but far too late and with only 1 remaining unit, which then perished ignominiously immediately on the return of the home guard from their successful razing of Lorien.

And so it went. Dol Guldur was my only (nominally) successful siege, although tactically it did not in the end help, since it was immediately indefensible. The other sieges resembled waves breaking on rocks, so swiftly did my troops succumb while making so little impact on the defenders.

Gandalf the Grey played little part other than getting Pippin (back) into Rivendell in time for the siege, with the hope of using a card to slay a minion (the Witch King) using a successful Leadership reroll, which characteristically was not, in fact, successful. Can’t complain too much about that, it was only a 50% shot, but it did form part of a broader pattern. It did allow me to bring on Gandalf the White in Fangorn, where he lurked for the rest of the game, doing me little good apart from keeping his extra dice, but also meaning that James, having recruited all his very powerful Isengard elites in Orthanc, never used them for fear of losing Saruman to Ent event cards. This was a very real possibility since I hung onto two of them!

Late on, there was a brief ray of hope. James scented victory and, slightly imprudently, vacated Minas Morgul completely with a view to sweeping through Gondor, supported by the Southrons who had already taken Pelargir. I had built up an impressively hard army in Minas Tirith and had then moved them to Osgiliath, led by Aragorn and Boromir, where they were poised to strike either South or East, or, less plausibly, North. I had also retained a card allowing me double movement with an army, with no combat allowed. I struggled to restrain my glee as I played the card, neatly sidestepped the equally impressive army in South Ithilien, and strolled through the open gates to take possession of Minas Morgul. This was a complete turnaround – I had 8 units, 2 of them elites, 2 leaders plus the 2 companions in possession of 2 of the required 4 VPs, and with another pair of strongholds (2 VPs each) within 2 spaces. James moved his force of Easterlings into Morannon, hoping to whittle my attacking force down should it make it to Gorgoroth. Nonetheless this was the only game in town for me, so I attacked his small bunch of regulars in Gorgoroth to leave me in striking distance of both strongholds. In one of the few rolls that went in my favour, I took all 5 with a single attack (no fortification there, so rolling 5s was sufficient) and faced a difficult decision – how to split the army? Minas Morgul was sure to be re-attacked by the hordes in South Ithilien, but I also needed to be able to take Barad-dûr. I settled for leaving 4 regulars in Minas Morgul, since they only needed to survive one action from James, sending 2 regulars and 2 elites (to allow for siege continuation) plus the companions to finish off the couple of regulars remaining in Barad-dûr. Unfortunately, the pattern of siege warfare continued, and James immediately retook Minas Morgul with a roll of three 6s and a card giving an extra hit. At that point, with no VPs and neither a military prospect nor any hope for the Fellowship (only 4 spaces along, 8 corruption and no chance of safe havens on their route), I ceded victory to the Shadow.

So, after 4 games of WotR, 2 as the Shadow and 2 as the Free Peoples, what do I think? Well, all 4 games have gone to the Shadow, and that’s even with me making many mistakes as the Shadow, so it would appear to be easier for the Shadow than the Free Peoples. I’ve found it frustrating a lot of the time, and difficult to keep tabs at all times on all the things I should, but I’ve never been bored, always totally engaged. As with all dice games, sometimes the dice can overturn the best-laid plans, and I guess I’ll just have to learn to be more sanguine about that. Certainly James played it well, most of the time using cards to maximum effect and disguising his intentions enough to keep me guessing, while inexorably piling on the military pressure and keeping the Fellowship to an intermittent creep. I just mourn the loss of the game we’d have had with different dice!

This entry was posted in Games, Uncategorized, WotR and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Despair, DESPAIR!

  1. Jimmy Mac says:

    It was a fantastic game. Considering my well stated and overly discussed position that the Freepeoples Player(FP) is at a distinct disadvantage in terms of odds of winning as compared to the Shadow Player(SP); despite this, I think it wasn’t the game mechanic as such that defeated you, it was bad luck. The spectacularly poor dice rolls at inopportune moments did mean that your game was quite frustrating and never really gained traction. Obviously there are things I would have done differently but I cannot honestly say they would have been successful in the face of staggeringly bad dice.

    These game logs are really quite interesting, it is fascinating to see your opponents view of the game – “slightly imprudently, vacated Minas Morgul” – as we have discussed since your initial blog, this tactic was planned – I had just forgotten about the “through the day and night” card, so my plan to materialise 5 regulars and a Nazgul in Minas Morgul was thwarted (can’t remember the name on the card something to do with Aragorn) and more importantly my apparently strong SP position was nearly cheekily pinched from under my cock-sure nose. 😉 Phew! I’d have never lived that down. My strategy had been to seize the initiative and remove your early fellowship resting places at all costs, even if it meant sacrificing the Witch King – you nearly got him 😉 and thankfully the only game loosing mistake I made, allowing your sortie into Mordor with Aragorn and Boromir at the head of a large Gondor army, didn’t get horribly punished by the dice.

    My overwhelming belief is that as soon as the SP has a moderate understanding of the game mechanics it is practically impossible to take 4VPs as the FP simultaneously, without some fortuitous mistake by the SP. Given this belief, despite how it looks, the only strategy with the FP is to keep the military forces busy (making chances for that error!) whilst you do what you can to progress the fellowship. Although I accept that this looked like a lost cause for you, so may be your bold stunt in Mordor was your last best chance! Shame it failed 😀 Great game though, thanks.

Leave a Reply

